Sonia Ramamoorthy MD, FACS, FASCRS


Sonia Ramamoorthy MD, FACS, FASCRS

Professor of Surgery
Chief, Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery
Vice- Chair of Surgical Quality
Rebecca and John Moores Cancer Center
University of California,
San Diego Health System

Sonia Ramamoorthy, MD, is a board-certified colon and rectal surgeon. She specializes in treating colorectal and anal cancer, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) and diverticulitis. She also leads the colorectal cancer team at Moores Cancer Center at UC San Diego Health.

Dr. Ramamoorthy is an expert in open and minimally invasive colorectal surgical procedures, and has a special interest in robotic approaches. She was the first surgeon in San Diego to perform robotic colorectal procedures.

As a professor in the Department of Surgery at UC San Diego School of Medicine, she teaches students and residents and trains fellows in minimally invasive surgery. Her research has focused on colorectal and anal cancer, Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, and pelvic floor disorders. She has authored numerous papers and chapters about colon and rectal surgery, and is an enthusiastic innovator and educator in the fields of minimally invasive surgery and translational oncology. She also serves as the director of quality for the Department of Surgery and has a keen interest in improving surgery outcomes and patient satisfaction.

Dr. Ramamoorthy completed a research fellowship and a general surgery residency at UC San Diego School of Medicine, and a colon and rectal surgery fellowship at Washington University’s Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis. She earned her medical degree at Boston University School of Medicine. She is board-certified in general surgery and colon and rectal surgery.

Dr. Ramamoorthy is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons (FACS) and the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (FASCRS).

View More Exponential Medicine Faculty

Exponential Medicine brings together top experts to inform medical leaders how technology is impacting business. View the full list of 2017 faculty: